I would like to…

…make an instrument

Cambridge Woodwind Makers offer a range of instrument making courses with international experts. They range from 4-day to 2-week courses depending on the instrument being made. You will be guided through the process of an instrument from start; raw materials, through to finish; an instrument you can take home and play!

The making of woodwind and brass instruments are considered endangered crafts by the Heritage Crafts Association and are listed on their Red List.  It is sometimes possible to get grants for courses in endangered crafts so do contact the relevant guilds and associations.

If there is a course we don’t seem to offer that you would like to do, please get in touch.

Make an Instrument with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Baroque oboes
Make Instruments with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Classical clarinets
Make Instruments with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Cornetti
Make Flutes with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Flutes
Make Instruments with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Long trumpets
Make Instruments with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Recorders
Make an Instrument with Cambridge Woodwind Makers
Woodland whistles

Upcoming Instrument Making Courses

Recorder Making with Jacqueline Sorel – February 2020

Sun 23rd Feb @ 09:00 - Thu 27th Feb @ 17:00

Recorder Making with Tim Cranmore – March 2020

Sat 21st Mar @ 10:00 - Wed 25th Mar @ 17:30

One-Keyed Folk Flute Making – April 2020

Sun 19th Apr @ 09:00 - Thu 23rd Apr @ 17:00

Classical Clarinet Making – June 2020

Mon 1st Jun @ 10:00 - Mon 15th Jun @ 17:30

Long Trumpet Making – July 2020

Sat 4th Jul @ 10:00 - Wed 8th Jul @ 18:00

Classical Clarinet Making – July 2020

Mon 20th Jul @ 10:00 - Mon 3rd Aug @ 17:30

Baroque Oboe Making – Denner – September 2020

Sat 19th Sep @ 10:00 - Thu 24th Sep @ 17:30

One-Keyed Folk Flute Making – October 2020

Sun 18th Oct @ 09:00 - Thu 22nd Oct @ 17:00